Jenkkifutiksessa tapahtuu

Schedule released for Women´s World Championship

The road to the 2022 IFAF Women’s World Championship final has been set following a technical meeting of competing nations held on Thursday April 21. The eight competing teams were informed of their ranking and the schedule format.

Reigning World Champions the United States sat at the top of the rankings, followed by Canada and Mexico – silver and bronze medalists from the last World Championship respectively. Rankings four to six are held by Finland, Sweden and Great Britain based on their performances at the 2019 IFAF European Championship, held in Leeds, England. Australia is ranked seventh whilst 2015 European bronze medalists Germany is ranked in eighth.

Tournament Manager Marie Solhaug welcomed the release of the draw.

-IFAF is delighted that the tournament will open with a round of fixtures that will provide fans around the world with a compelling spectacle.

Finland will face Sweden in the opening round

The United States will start the defense of their crown with a game against Germany. Finland, on home soil, will face neighbors Sweden. Australia will be hoping to claim a major scalp as they take on Canada, and Great Britain will face Mexico in a repeat of the 2017 bronze medal game.

Team Finland´s head coach Mika Eloranta welcomes the published program

-Sweden is a perfect first round opponent for us because we know Sweden really well. Last year, several national team players went to play for a different team in Sweden, so the players and coaches are probably familiar to them. Sweden is also sure to raise the vibes for the tournament right from the start, so it’s a good thing for the whole tournament.


More:  IFAF release

Photo:  Linda Mustakari

Lataa PDFTulosta